Top 5 anticipated albums in the New Year

Our list of 5 anticipated albums by amazingly good (sometimes over-looked) local bands. Mark your calendars.

[By Monica Harris]

These local musicians have been working overtime to bring us good music in the new year. Each of these groups have albums coming out in January or February and we picked our top 5. We are impatiently counting the days.

Alabaster Stones – Its hard to believe this group is based in Orange County. Their sound contains a dirty south quality, reminiscent of the Doobie Brothers ala “Dark Water” or Little Big Town. Utilizing lots of strings – guitars, banjo and even a papoose – the result is hearty Americana.  EP release: January 19th



The Little Ones  Upbeat Los Angeles indie-pop by Ed Reyes and Ian Moreno. The music reminds me a lot of the Strokes or Vampire Weekend. If their new album will have music anything like “Ordinary Song,” we have A LOT to look forward to.  New album “The Dawn Sang Along” Release: February 12




Local Natives are pure Silver Lake indie rock. Taylor Rice, Kelcey Ayer, Ryan Hahn and Matt Frazier lay eloquent lyrics over soulful guitar.  Recently, the band announced they built a new studio and were working on their second full length album, “Hummingbird.” We are so eager to hear it. Release date: January 28th.




Atoms For Peace Imagine if you could blend Radiohead, REM and Red Hot Chili Peppers into one creative mass. What would that sound like? Well the answer is Atoms For Peace. A dream-team of talent, the band consists of Thom Yorke (vocals, guitar and piano), Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea, Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich on guitar, keyboards and synths, Joey Waronker of Beck & R.E.M. on drums, and Mauro Refosco on percussion, resulting in a conglomeration of experimental rock. New album “Amok” will be released by XL Recordings. Release date: February 25th.


Nightmare Air is a rock band from Los Angeles, featuring Dave Dupuis and Swaan Miller. Their upcoming debut album was mixed by Dave Schiffman (Nine Inch Nails) and mastered by Howie Weinberg (Nirvana, Sonic Youth, The White Stripes). Their current single “Escape” features delicate female vocals over eerie shoegaze melodies. The album, still untitled and still unreleased is promised in “early 2013.”

Additional anticipated albums in the new year:

Tegan & Sara
Lisa Loeb
Darwin Deez